Sunday, 12 July 2020

Sunday Post #112


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.


Life

I'm back! I have been absent for a couple of weeks because things got really busy and my mother had to have an unexpected operation and that stressed me out too much.
Luckily the operation seemed to have gone well, although we don't know all the results yet.

The good news is, I'm now on my Summer break! 

Blog and books

I'm slowly getting out of my reading slump and I finally finished The Fullmetal Alchemist series this month! I can now return it to my friend before an actual year has passed.


I'm currently reading The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo. I'm really enjoying it, it makes me think of the film Coco (but only a little bit). Netflix recently adapted The Ghost Bride but I haven't seen the show yet. 

What are you currently reading?

Movies and TV Shows



I'm not really watching anything right now, but two weeks ago I watched The K2, which I enjoyed as well.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 7 June 2020

Sunday Post #111


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.


Life

I've starting using Instagram to share my favourite books by black authors and the books by black authors that are on my to read list. The recent events make me furious and sad at the same time. It needs to stop. Black lives matter!
I will share my recommendations on my blog as well.

In other news, some days my grandmother appears to be a little bit better but the days after that, it's the other way around. I think it would help if we were able to visit her, a lot of this is due to stress, I believe. However, that's still not possible. She has a doctor's appointment in two weeks (which is rather late) and if she goes she will have to be in quarantine for two weeks afterwards. So, this will make it hard on her as she thrives on being with family and doesn't really have any other hobbies (except for colouring). In addition, one and a half years ago the doctors told her she had about two years to live, so every month that goes by and we're unable to see her, feels awful.

Blog and books


I'm currently reading the Fullmetal Alchemist manga series. I'm at volume 8.
I borrowed the boxset from my friend's brother in August, so it's about time I read the series. I'm hoping to finish it in July but this might be wishful thinking.

Movies and TV Shows



I finished Kill Me Heal Me this week and it was really good. A Korean drama about a female psychiatrist and a man who has multiple personalities. Currently I'm watching Put Your Head on My Shoulder, a feel-good Chinese drama on Netflix.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 6 June 2020

Stacking the Shelves: April 2020 Book Haul



Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

A bit late but here is my April book haul. I haven't been reading that much lately and I also haven't bought that many books in April and none at all in May. It's the first time in years that I had a month in which I didn't buy a single book. I'm kind of proud of that. 

These are the four books I got in April:

1. You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hogle


I quite enjoyed this one!

2. Fallen Saint (All The Pretty Things #2) by Monica James

This is the sequel to Bad Saint, I tried to read it but couldn't really get into to it. I probably won't pick it up again.

3. Rise of Empire (The Riyria Revelations #3-4) by Michael J. Sullivan


At the start of the lockdown I thought I would read a lot. I want to read more fantasy books as well. This was the only book in the series I didn't yet own. Still haven't read a single one of them. I curse you reading slump.

4. Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams


If it weren't for the reading slump, I would have already read this one. I'm very excited to read it, it has been on my desk since I got it in the mail.

I'm planning to write a blog post about my favourite black authors and the ones that are still on my TBR. The things that are happening in the US are horrific and heart-breaking. Black lives matter! 


Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 




Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 








Tuesday, 2 June 2020

May 2020 Wrap Up

Here is my May wrap up. I didn't read anything in the beginning of May, but the last (two) weeks I did read 2 books and 2 manga volumes. I'm quite happy with what I read after all. I do hope to read more in June.

1. Heidi by Johanna Spyri


I recently got Heidi and A Little Princess to complete my Puffin in Bloom collection. I love these designs. I didn't know anything about these two books, but I'm happy I read Heidi. I gave it three stars. I probably would have loved this more when I was younger. I hope to read A Little Princess or a Secret Garden soon as well. Which one should I read first?

2. Men Without Women: Stories by Haruki Murakami


My first Murakami book! I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. I really want to read more books by Murakami soon. Do you have any recommendations?
I gave Men Without Women five stars.

3. Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 2 (Fullmetal Alchemist, #2) by Hiromu Arakawa


I'm borrowing the boxset from my friends brother, I read the first volume last year and wasn't too impressed but I feel bad that I didn't read more, so I'm going to try to read them all soon!

4. Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 3 (Fullmetal Alchemist, #3) by Hiromu Arakawa


This still isn't my favourite manga series but the characters are starting to grow on my. I'm enjoying it more.


What did you read recently?
Have you read any of these books or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts and recommendations down below!

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 31 May 2020

Sunday Post #110


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.

Life

As you might know, I'm a teacher. Schools are slowly opening again but so far not the years I'm teaching. Using videoconferences to teach starts to feel normal but I do miss teaching the regular way. Also, it's often annoying to find out someone else has been listening to the classes I teach as they just sit out of view of the webcam of a family member. Not knowing exactly who your audience is, is not that fun.

Blog and books


I finished a book today! I read and enjoyed my first Murakami book: Men Without Women. I definitely would like to read more of his work. Do you have any recommendations?

Movies and TV Shows



I finished It's Okay, That's Love and it was truly great. One of the best Korean dramas in my opinion. I'm currently watching Kill Me Heal Me, which I'm liking as well!

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 24 May 2020

Sunday Post #109


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.

Life

I'm really getting tired of being unable to visit my grandmother, she's getting very stressed out and we know we would be able to calm her down if we could visit her. Calling is no longer helping her that much.

Blog and books


I finished a book yesterday!! Probably the first and only one this month. 

Movies and TV Shows




I watched Well Intended Love and It's Okay, That's Love this week. I'm really enjoying the latter.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 17 May 2020

Sunday Post #108


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.

Life

Having to take the train to work this week for a quick meeting which didn't really have any relevant information to me, was strange. It was strange to wear a mask on the train and to wander around in a usually vibrant city which now had an alienated feel to it.

In other news, I was finally able to meet my grandmother in the garden of her resting home (she lives in a service flat, though). We were separated by three meters, and politely asked to leave after twenty minutes to make room for others. While I was happy to see her, I hated having to do it this way. A day later, the nurses called to tell us she wasn't doing well and a doctor had to be called. She's a little bit better today, but I'm still worried. That not the kind of call you want to receive, especially now when you aren't allowed to visit her.

Blog and books


Yesterday I picked up a book for the first time this month. I've only read about 32 pages, but I hope read more soon. Heidi, the book I'm reading, is a children's classic I know absolutely nothing about. Have you read it?

Movies and TV Shows



This week I finished When the Camellia Blooms, which was a good Korean drama on Netflix and I really enjoyed it. I have been listening to the soundtrack as well. 
Another show I watched this week was My Secret Romance because my friend recommended it to me. It was nice. I'm not sure what I will watch next. I need some feel-good tv shows. Do you have any recommendations?

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!