Wednesday, 15 August 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: Lethal White (Cormoran Strike #4) by Robert Galbraith

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.


“I seen a kid killed…He strangled it, up by the horse.”

When Billy, a troubled young man, comes to private eye Cormoran Strike’s office to ask for his help investigating a crime he thinks he witnessed as a child, Strike is left deeply unsettled. While Billy is obviously mentally distressed, and cannot remember many concrete details, there is something sincere about him and his story. But before Strike can question him further, Billy bolts from his office in a panic.

Trying to get to the bottom of Billy’s story, Strike and Robin Ellacott—once his assistant, now a partner in the agency—set off on a twisting trail that leads them through the backstreets of London, into a secretive inner sanctum within Parliament, and to a beautiful but sinister manor house deep in the countryside.

And during this labyrinthine investigation, Strike’s own life is far from straightforward: his newfound fame as a private eye means he can no longer operate behind the scenes as he once did. Plus, his relationship with his former assistant is more fraught than it ever has been—Robin is now invaluable to Strike in the business, but their personal relationship is much, much trickier than that. 


-- Goodreads.com description --


I read all three Robert Galbraith books this year and since the next one is coming out in September, I want to continue the series.


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


Which books are you excited to read?



If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 13 August 2018

July 2018 Wrap Up

These are the nine books I read in July. I was able to read all the books I chose for the Tome Topple Readathon but I needed more than two weeks to do so. I'm very happy I was able to read so much this month!

1. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton 


I really enjoyed this sci-fi mystery thriller and I highly recommend it! 5 stars!

2. Aquicorn Cove by Katie O'Neill


I got this e-arc from Netgalley and you can find my review here.

3. Sweet Tooth, Volume 2: In Captivity by Jeff Lemire


I liked this better than the first volume! Hoping to continue the series soon! 4 stars!

4. The City of Brass (The Daevabad Trilogy, #1) by S.A. Chakraborty 


This book was amazing! Can't wait to read the sequel! 5 stars!

5. The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang 


This is one of my favourite books I read this year even though it can be very brutal. 5 stars! Highly recommend this one. 

6. Traitor's Blade (Greatcoats, #1) by Sebastien de Castell


This was good but after two great fantasy reads it did not live up to my very high expectations. I am however very excited to read the sequel as I believe the next book will be better. 4 stars.

7. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter


I enjoyed the title story and some fairy tales at the end. However, I did not like all her stories and was often confused. 3 stars.

8. The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas


This was such a fun and cute read. A little predictable but I really enjoyed it! 3,5 stars.

9. The Honeymoon Trap by Christina Hovland


I got an e-arc from Netgalley and you can find my review here.



What did you read recently? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful week everyone!

Sunday, 12 August 2018

Sunday Post #25


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

Not much to report this week, I'm practicing for my driver's exam and I have been watching Netflix. I'm slowly getting nervous about the end of the summer holidays because I still don't know what I'll be doing in September. I'll have to wait until the end of August to know more.



Blog and books

This week I posted my review of The Honeymoon Trap, a new Can't Wait Wednesday Post and Stacking the Shelves Post. Currently not reading much but I really wanted to start The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You, so I hope to do so soon!

Next week I will be sharing my July Wrap Up, Can't Wait Wednesday post and Sunday Post. I might add a review as well.


Movies and TV Shows


I have been curious for some time now about the appeal of kdrama. So, when I found some on Netflix I decided to start watching them. The first one I started watching was Boys over Flowers which is good but I think the main character shouts too much. I also watched Full House which was good but shouldn't have had so many episodes.

Do you have any recommendations about foreign films or series? 

I also watched The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. The movie is okay, fun and about books, but ultimately nothing special.



What did you read or watch recently? Do you have any recommendations?

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 11 August 2018

Stacking the Shelves: July 2018 Book Haul



Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

Today I'm going to share with you all the books I got in the month of July. Let me warn you in advance, I got way too many books.

These are all the e-books I got in July:

1. The Supervillain and Me (Morriston Superheroes #1) by Danielle Banas


2. Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton


Dragons!

3. The Indigo Girl by Natasha Boyd 


This was one of the first e-arcs I got from Netgalley but only as a pdf instead of epub. I dislike reading pdf files so I decided to get the e-book. It's been more than a year since I got approved to read it and I feel terrible I haven't done so yet, I hope to change that soon.

4. First & Then by Emma Mills


5. Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson 


6. The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You by Lily Anderson 


A retelling of Much Ado About Nothing? Yes, please!

7. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Inheritance Trilogy #1) by N.K. Jemisin 


I also got two Netgalley e-arcs and I have already read and reviewed both:

8. Aquicorn Cove by Katie O'Neill 


9. The Honeymoon Trap by Christina Hovland





As you might now from my previous Sunday Posts, I went to Spain in July. My friend and I went to Barcelona for the day and we decided to go search for all the interesting English bookshops in the city. These are the books I got!

10. Daniel Deronda by George Eliot


11. Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell


12. The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens


13. Dombey and Son by Charles Dickens


14. The Warden (Chronicles of Barsetshire #1) by Anthony Trollope


15. Barchester Towers (Chronicles of Barsetshire #2) by Anthony Trollope


16. Dr. Thorne (Chronicles of Barsetshire #3) by Anthony Trollope


17. Framley Parsonage (Chronicles of Barsetshire #4) by Anthony Trollope


I'm so happy I found these Penguin English Library editions! They are so difficult to find!

The next four books I got the same day in a second hand bookstore, Hibernian, in Barcelona.

18. Myrren's Gift (The Quickening #1) by Fiona McIntosh 


19. Rivers of London (Peter Grant #1) by Ben Aaronovitch 


20. Promise of Blood (Powder Mage #1) by Brian McClellan 


21. Fire (Engelsfors #2) by Mats Strandberg and Sara Bergmark Elfgren





Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 



Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 


Wednesday, 8 August 2018

Can't-Wait Wednesday: A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she’s instead somehow sucked into Rhen’s cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom.

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn’t know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what’s at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.




-- Goodreads.com description --



I love retellings and especially Beauty and the Beast ones like this one. The cover is stunning and I can't wait to read this story!

This book will be published on 29 January 2019.


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!



Which books are you excited to read?




If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 6 August 2018

Review: The Honeymoon Trap by Christina Hovland

How to Survive Your Next Relationship Disaster 101 

Step 1: Get pumped. Your new house, in your new town, comes with a sexy and shirtless man next door. Score!

Step 2: Don’t let your freak-out show when Mr. OMG Shirtless turns around—and it’s your old crush. 

Step 3: Hold your head high when you run into him again on the first day of your new job—literally—and spill coffee all over yourself.

Step 4: Stay calm when he introduces himself as your new boss…and then announces that your first assignment is to go on a fake honeymoon together.

Step 5: Keep your $h*t locked tight when the new boss/old crush and you are forced to sleep in the same room…with one bed.

Step 6: Try to ignore just how freaking hot he is, and how much you want to touch him…


-- Goodreads.com description --



First of all, I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Honeymoon Trap is a fun romance read. At first, I had some trouble adjusting to the writing style and while it still isn't my favourite, I did not mind it when I read on.

I did have a couple of issues with this book, mainly the main character used to be fat and unattractive and changed everything about herself to look hot and now her crush is interested in her. I hate to read these types of things. It's unoriginal and not well executed in this book.

I also dislike it when characters run into burning buildings when the fire department has arrived. 

Aside from these issues I did enjoy the book. It's a fun, cute romance novel. 3 stars!


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below! 


If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 5 August 2018

Sunday Post #24


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

I had a lovely and refreshing week at the seaside. My great-aunt and my grandmother really enjoyed themselves and it hurts to read their text that they miss the sea and us terribly. I also got very clumsy one day and fell, now I have to walk around with a band aid on my knee. 



Blog and books

I posted a Stacking the Shelves yesterday to talk about all the books I got in June. I did not find the time to read or post a lot during the weeks because my grandmother and great-aunt required a lot of my attention and energy. I love them so much and I enjoyed staying with them but it could be exhausting.

I am currently reading and enjoying The Kiss Quotient and I hope to finish it today!

Movies and TV Shows

I did not watch anything for the same reasons. I did however purchase a DVD of Pride and Prejudice, an old black and white version!


What did you read or watch recently? And what have you been doing to relax and are you travelling anywhere?

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!