Sunday, 20 January 2019

Sunday Post #48


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

I've been ill this weekend, terrible throat ache and headaches. I hope to get better soon! Last week has been stressful but I do enjoy teaching, even if it's Dutch.


Blog and books

I read a chapter of Artificial Condition and I posted a Cant' Wait Wednesday post. I didn't have the time to do much else.


Movies and TV Shows


I watched Pinocchio last week a Korean drama about becoming a reporter and what being a reporter actually means. I also started watching Doctors and Good Morning Call.




What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 16 January 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Night Tiger by Yangsze Choo

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.



A sweeping historical novel about a dancehall girl and an orphan boy whose fates entangle over an old Chinese superstition about men who turn into tigers.

When 11-year-old Ren's master dies, he makes one last request of his Chinese houseboy: that Ren find his severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and reunite it with his body. Ren has 49 days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth, unable to rest in peace.

Ji Lin always wanted to be a doctor, but as a girl in 1930s Malaysia, apprentice dressmaker is a more suitable occupation. Secretly, though, Ji Lin also moonlights as a dancehall girl to help pay off her beloved mother's Mahjong debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir: a severed finger. Convinced the finger is bad luck, Ji Lin enlists the help of her erstwhile stepbrother to return it to its rightful owner.

As the 49 days tick down, and a prowling tiger wreaks havoc on the town, Ji Lin and Ren's lives intertwine in ways they could never have imagined. Propulsive and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores colonialism and independence, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and first love. Braided through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order. 

-- Goodreads.com description -- 


This sounds like a diverse and original story and I would like to read more Asian inspired books this year, so this looks like a good book to start with.


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

Which books are you excited to read?

I'm in need of Asian literature recommendations!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 13 January 2019

Sunday Post #47


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

Life has been crazy this week, absolutely insane! Everything I had planned had to be changed. I'm part of a new project which requires me to substitute teachers in three schools, when no one I can substitute is ill, I co-teach in one school. So, on Monday, I had a new co-teaching schedule which I was really happy to start but during my third lesson I was pulled out of class and had immediately had to go to another school to start teaching Dutch the next day, fulltime until the end of the schoolyear. I knew something like this could happen but not so soon and not only Dutch lessons (as you know I studied English and Spanish). This means I have to put a lot more time and work in my lesson preparations. I had to contact the teacher I have to substitute and that turned out the be the most problematic of all. I had to go to her house which can't be reached by public transportation and is about an hour away from my home. When I got there I received a huge stack of tasks that still needed correcting dating from September, October, November and December. She just told me I had to do it. This will take me several days to correct while I didn't even give the assignment in the first place. I let the school know and the principal will decide on Monday what I have to do with that.

Also, the fifth and sixth grade do not have books but only chapters they receive from the teacher with as little text as possible on it. I didn't receive corrections of her course and was told to look it up on the internet.

On Monday I have to teach 8 hours of Dutch and then I have to hurry and go teach my Spanish evening class, will be home at 23:30. I'm so not ready to that, urgh!


Blog and books

I didn't read anything this week but I did post my December book haul in my latest Stacking the Shelves post!


Movies and TV Shows

I forgot to mention I watched and loved Still Alice and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri last week.


This week I watched the kdrama W and LOVED it! Such an amazing show about cartoon characters that get involved in the real world. I highly recommend this one!

I started watching the kdrama Pinocchio and I believe I will enjoy this as well. The only movie I watched was Mamma Mia 2 and I didn't enjoy it as much as the first one, it didn't really have a story to tell.




What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 12 January 2019

Stacking the Shelves: December 2019 Book Haul



Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

I started reading again in December and I purchased a lot of books as well!

1. The Dry (Aaron Falk #1) by Jane Harper 



2. The End of the Affair by Graham Greene



The next five books are e-books:
3. Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren



4. Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley 



5. To All the Boys I've Loved Before (To All the Boys I've Loved Before #1) by Jenny Han




6. The Old Kingdom Collection (Sabriel, Lirael, Abhorsen, Clariel) by Garth Nix



7. Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway



8. The Boy on the Bridge (The Girl With All the Gifts #2) by M.R. Carey



9. Melmoth the Wanderer by Charles Robert Maturin



Love this editions!

10. Shadow of The Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1) by Julie Kagawa 



11. Birdsong (French Trilogy #2) by Sebastian Faulks



12. Inside the O'Briens by Lisa Genova



13. Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly 



14. Dreams of Joy (Shanghai Girls #2) by Lisa See 



15. All Systems Red (The Murderbot Diaries #1) by Martha Wells 



Loved this novella, which is why I immediately got the second e-book as well!

16. Artificial Condition (The Murderbot Diaries #2) by Martha Wells



17. Bright We Burn (The Conqueror's Saga #3) by Kiersten White 



18. The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) by N.K. Jemisin 




Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 




Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 







Sunday, 6 January 2019

Sunday Post #46


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

This is the first Sunday Post of the new year! I hope everyone is having a great 2019 so far! My grandmother was able to join us on New Year's Eve after all but we did experience some trouble getting her here. She lives with her sister on the third floor of an apartment complex and the elevator didn't work on New Year's Eve, so they wouldn't have been able to get down. Luckily the problem was fixed in about 30 minutes but I did panic at first.

I can't say the Christmas holidays have been as relaxing as I hoped they would be and tomorrow I have to start teaching again. I wish I had another week where I could just read and relax without having to deal with any problems but that's almost never the case.


Blog and books





I finished The Mad Ship by Robin Hobb and I loved it! I haven't read anything else this week but I did manage to post my top ten favourite books of 2018 and most anticipated reads of 2019.

I also started to catch up on comments and commenting back, I still have a lot to go through but I did make progress! I'm sorry it's taking me so long to get back to you but life just gets in the way. I miss the free time I had while I still studying.

Movies and TV Shows



I am currently watching and enjoying She Was Pretty. Netflix put a lot of kdramas online this week and I'll have a lot to watch in the future!


I also watched some Netflix Christmas movies and the three Hobbit films as I had only watched the first one before. The first one is still my favourite, I somehow wasn't that impressed with the second and third instalments.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Friday, 4 January 2019

Top Ten Most Anticipated Books of 2019

Lots of amazing books will be released in 2019. This is the top ten of my most anticipated books this year! These are in no particular order

1. King of Scars (Nikolai Duology #1) by Leigh Bardugo 


Nikolai was my favourite character in the Grisha trilogy! Glad to read more of him!

2. 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne


The Hating Game is one of my favourite books and my perfect comfort read. Can't wait to read Sally Thorne's next book!

3. Bloodwitch (The Witchlands #3) by Susan Dennard


Aeduan is my favourite character in the series, so happy to read his story next! I ship him and Iseult so much!

4. The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air #2) by Holly Black


5. Darkdawn (The Nevernight Chronicle #3) by Jay Kristoff


Love this series so much! Can't wait to read this book!

6. The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War #2) by R.F. Kuang


7. The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon


8. The Kingdom of Copper (The Daevabad Trilogy #2) by S.A. Chakraborty 


9. The Bride Test by Helen Hoang


10. Unmarriageable by Soniah Kamal


I can never resist a Pride and Prejudice retelling!



What new releases are you looking forward to reading this year? 

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Thursday, 3 January 2019

Top Ten Books I read in 2018

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme  which was previously hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and is now hosted by That Artsy Reader GirlEach week bloggers post their top ten on a previously suggested topic. This week's topic is Ten Books I read in 2018.

I didn't know until just now that this was this week's Top Ten Tuesday Topic, which is why I'm only posting this today.

Here are the best books I read in 2018!  (Spoiler: there are 11 books here!)
These are in no particular order.

1. Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicle #2) by Jay Kristoff


This was the first book I read in 2018 and it was fantastic! Loved the plot twists, characters and story! Can't wait to read the third book!

2. The Secret History by Donna Tartt



This was on my TBR for so long because I knew I was going to love it and I wanted to read it at the right time. Donna Tartt is such a fantastic author, I will read everything she writes!

3. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger


Some people hate, others love it and I definitely loved it!

4. Kings of the Wyld (The Band #1) by Nicholas Eames


Loved this humorous fantasy novel! Can't wait to read more!

5. The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis


A very hard-hitting story! 


6. The Poppy War (The Poppy War #1) by R.F. Kuang


7. The City of Brass (The Daevabad Trilogy #1) by S.A. Chakraborty 


8. The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas


Incredible book! Can't wait to watch the film when it's released in my country at the end of January!

9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


Fantastic book! Really enjoyed the movie as well! Highly recommend!

10. All Systems Red (The Murderbot Diaries #1) by Martha Wells 


I adore Murderbot! Such a great character!

11. The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton


Lots of twists and turns, bit confusing in the beginning but well worth reading!



As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!