Sunday, 25 October 2020

Sunday Post #124

                                               


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.




Life


Yesterday, I got the news that I once again have a low risk of getting covid-19 because another one of pupils has tested positive. I still have to go to work and teach but I'm no longer allowed to see anyone except for my family at home and I have to stay inside as much as possible. It's annoying and it's something that might happen for the rest of the schoolyear. To be honest, I'm also a little bit worried I'm might get ill and spread it through my family as well. 

Blog and books



I'm currently reading The Bird's Nest by Shirley Jackson and truly enjoying it. Her writing style is always so atmospheric, it's perfect to read in October. I'm also still listening to the audiobook of Educated, it's very interesting so far. I you have other non-fiction audiobook recommendations, please let me know!


Movies and TV Shows


I didn't watch that much this week, except for a Flemish quiz, De Slimste Mens, and some talk shows about the covid-19 situation here.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 21 October 2020

August and September 2020 Wrap Up

I forgot to post my August wrap up last month so now you get both August and September.

I'm quite happy with the selection of books I read these last two months.

These are the three books I read in August:

1. Nineteen Eighty-Four by George Orwell


This book is amazing! I can't recommend it enough. It's a gem everyone needs to read. 5 stars!

2. Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 by Cho Nam-Joo


Another great read. This book tells us what some women need to give in order to have a family. It's an interesting and thought-provoking read. 5 stars!

3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald



Another fantastic classic. I completely fell in love with Fitzgerald's writing style. I hope this is the start of a great love story between me and his other books. 5 stars!

These are the three books I read in September:

4. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry




This was a reread for me and I really enjoyed it. Also, I adore this edition. 5 stars!

5. Born A Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood by Trevor Noah


This was my  first audiobook and it was an incredible experience. While I do think I grasp more of the story when I actually read it with my eyeballs, I did think Trevor Noah's narration was a more important plus for me. 5 stars!

6. I Had That Same Dream Again: The Complete Manga Collection by Yoru Sumino



This was a wonderful manga all about the meaning of happiness. I wanted to read this because I loved I Want to Eat Your Pancreas and while I still love that one more, I recommend this one as well! 4 stars!

Have you read any of these books or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts and recommendations down below!

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 18 October 2020

Sunday Post #123

                                               


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


This weeks and the next one will be very busy for me. I also just learned I now have a low risk of getting Covid-19 because one of my pupils tested positive this week. She often sat right in front of me, so I'm actually quite nervous about this even though I'm told I should be fine.

Blog and books



I finished my second audiobook, Becoming by Michelle Obama, and started a new one: Educated by Tara Westover. I only made a little progress in The Bird's Nest, which is a bit of a problem since I need to finish it in five days.

Movies and TV Shows


I didn't really watch all that much this week except for a Belgian quiz, talk shows and the one episode of Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 17 October 2020

Stacking the Shelves: August Book Haul

  

Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

These are the books I got in August. A bit late, but here it is anyway:

1. 
The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson



I have read and loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Haunting of Hill House. I really want to get into more Shirley Jackson soon. Do you have any recommendations?

2. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry



I read this book for the first time when I was ten years old, I believe. I felt it was time to get a stunning edition of this wonderful book.

3. Pelea de gallos by María Fernanda Ampuero



I heard great things about this book and I wanted to try it in Spanish. Not sure when I find the time to do so, though.

4. I Have More Souls Than One by Fernando Pessoa



I haven't read anything by Pessoa before and thought this might be a good place to start. 

Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 




Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 




Sunday, 11 October 2020

Sunday Post #122

                                              


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


The last couple of weeks have been a bit busy, which is why I often lacked the time to blog. Your lovely comments did cheer me up, though!
Three more weeks and then I will have a break. The Corona numbers are increasing to a dangerous level and it's not always that fun to teach large groups anymore. Especially when some students still fail to see the necessity of wearing a mask, not hugging or drinking from the same bottle of water.

Blog and books



I'm still reading Becoming by Michelle Obama but I hope to finish the audiobook this week. I've read about 80%, and I liked what I read so far. I have yet to continue The King of Crows but I will do so when I have a bit more time. I also started The Bird's Nest by Shirley Jackson yesterday and I'm very intrigued by what I have read so far. I just might be a new favourite.

Movies and TV Shows



I watched Tenet yesterday and really enjoyed it! Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors, along with Tim Burton. Do you have any favourites?

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 20 September 2020

Sunday Post #121

                                             


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


I had a couple of busy weeks and the next one will be busy as well. The weather was very hot last week but I loved sitting outside and playing Splendor in the evenings. It's something we never used to do, but both my father and I find it relaxes us.

Blog and books



I finished reading Born a Crime by Trevor Noah and it was an amazing audiobook I can't recommend enough! I'm currently listening to Becoming and reading The King of Crows and enjoying both.

Movies and TV Shows




Last weekend I watched Love Never Dies with a friend and some of the songs are still stuck in my head today. The Phantom of the Opera is my favourite musical, I could watch it every month and not be bored. Do you like musicals? Which one is your favourite?

I also started watching The Umbrella Academy again. I decided to watch the first season again before moving on to the second one, because I really enjoyed it the first time. Also, I love the fact that the very first episode introduces the characters with a Phantom of the Opera medley. I'm not obsessed, I swear. Or at least, maybe  only a little bit ;).

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 6 September 2020

Sunday Post #120

                                            


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


I had some bad days this week, some people can just let you down in some cruel ways. Luckily, I have great friends and family to cheer me up.
In other news, I started teaching in 'real life' again :) I now have about 150 pupils, so going from seeing not that many people to 150 was a bit of a shock to the system but I'm enjoying teaching this way again. Still I'm always very careful and a bit nervous, trying to disinfect everything takes up a lot of time.

Blog and books



I started reading my first audiobook on my way to work (on the train). It's a pleasant experience, which I hope to do more often. I chose Born a Crime by Trevor Noah as my first audiobook. I've listened to about 20% and I'm truly enjoying it. I definitely think it's a plus to listen to Trevor Noah himself.

Becoming is another book I'd like to get as an audiobook, although I fear I won't have enough space on my phone, as I already had to delete some apps to download Born a Crime.

Movies and TV Shows



I watched one film this week, the new adaptation of Emma. Emma and Pride and Prejudice are my favourite Austen novels. I was very excited to watch the new film but now I do have some problems with it. I personally believe the added humoristic elements were totally unnecessary. Therefore, although I enjoyed it, I still prefer the older versions.

I also watched the new episodes of Lucifer, I enjoyed it but found some parts very predictable.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!