Saturday, 23 June 2018

Stacking the shelves: May Book Haul


Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got. I got way too many books in March, so it took me some time to create an actual list. Today I'm going to share with you all the e-books I got in March! Most of these e-books were incredibly cheap and I couldn't pass them up!

I did not get many books in May which is a good thing because I got too many books in March and April.

I got four physical books this month and a couple of e-books.

1. A Court of Frost and Starlight (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3.1) by Sarah J. Maas



I somehow have lost interest in this book. Do you guys recommend it?

2. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli



I did not enjoy this as much as Simon's story.

3. Leah on the Offbeat (Creekwood, #2) by Becky Albertalli 



This was fun!

4. The Smoke Thieves (The Smoke Thieves #1) by Sally Green 



Heard very mixed things after I got this book, so now I'm nervous to read it.

5. The Selection series by Kiera Cass

I got the first trilogy and the novella's in one e-book for less than 6 euros. I call that a bargain.

6. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

My second Colleen Hoover book.

7. Dumplin' (Dumplin' #1) by Julie Murphy

8. Wilder by Rebecca Yarros

Dnf. 

9. Raze by Tillie Cole


Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 


Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 

Review: Sheets by Brenna Thummler

Marjorie Glatt feels like a ghost. A practical thirteen year old in charge of the family laundry business, her daily routine features unforgiving customers, unbearable P.E. classes, and the fastidious Mr. Saubertuck who is committed to destroying everything she’s worked for.

Wendell is a ghost. A boy who lost his life much too young, his daily routine features ineffective death therapy, a sheet-dependent identity, and a dangerous need to seek purpose in the forbidden human world.

When their worlds collide, Marjorie is confronted by unexplainable disasters as Wendell transforms Glatt’s Laundry into his midnight playground, appearing as a mere sheet during the day. While Wendell attempts to create a new afterlife for himself, he unknowingly sabotages the life that Marjorie is struggling to maintain.


Sheets illustrates the determination of a young girl to fight, even when all parts of her world seem to be conspiring against her. It proves that second chances are possible whether life feels over or life is over. But above all, it is a story of the forgiveness and unlikely friendship that can only transpire inside a haunted laundromat.

-- Goodreads.com description --


I received an e-arc from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I'm grateful I had the chance to read it in advance. 

I love Brenna Thummler's adaption of Anne of Green Gables and when I saw she was publishing another comic and got really excited.

The artwork is amazing, I love the colour schemes and the ghosts were so cute, and each had their own personality. 

In the beginning of the graphic novel, Marjorie is in the library looking at a bookshelf and you can see a copy of Anne of Green Gables on the shelves. I really loved that reference to Thummler's other work.

I did have a couple of issues with the plot. Marjorie is a well-developed character and it was great to get to know her. However, the problem with Mr. Saubertuck was a little bit childish in my opinion. The threat of losing her business could have been more realistic.

Furthermore, I didn't feel like it was necessary to add a love interest to the plot. It felt kind of random and not founded on much.

I did like the ghosts and their storyline although that takes you completely away from reality. 

All in all, I enjoyed this graphic novel but the plot was not as interesting as Anne of Green Gables. I gave it 4 stars. It's a good read but do not expect too much from the plot.



Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!




Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

Can't-Wait-Wednesday: The Supervillain and Me (Morriston Superheroes #1) by Danielle Banas

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.


As witty as it is heartpounding, this fresh take on the beloved superhero genre is all about finding your own way to shine even when it seems everyone else around you is, well... super.

Never trust a guy in spandex.

In Abby Hamilton’s world, superheroes do more than just stop crime and save cats stuck in trees—they also drink milk straight from the carton and hog the television remote. Abby’s older brother moonlights as the famous Red Comet, but without powers of her own, following in his footsteps has never crossed her mind.

That is, until the city’s newest vigilante comes bursting into her life.

After saving Abby from an attempted mugging, Morriston’s fledgling supervillain Iron Phantom convinces her that he’s not as evil as everyone says, and that their city is under a vicious new threat. As Abby follows him deeper into their city’s darkest secrets, she comes to learn that heroes can’t always be trusted, and sometimes it’s the good guys who wear black.

-- Goodreads.com description --


Expected publication date: July 10th 2018

This just sounds like such a fun read! Perfect for my summer reading tastes! Hope to get to it soon!



Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

Which books are you excited to read?


If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!




Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 17 June 2018

Sunday Post #20


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

Tomorrow I start taking oral tests. It's the first time I'm not the one answering questions but asking them. It's a bit of weird feeling but I'm looking forward to it. So, that's what I will be doing for the rest of the week. 

Blog and books

I wrote another Stacking the Shelves and a Can't Wait Wednesday post this week and I'm feeling good about the fact that I have a little more time to blog now.

I'm also slowly coming out of my reading slump (at least, I hope so). I have finally finished You and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. I somehow expected more from both books, but the latter was definitely the slump's fault, it took me months to read such a short book! 

Currently reading and enjoying Leah on the Offbeat!

Movies and TV Shows



I finished La Casa de Papel and it was absolutely fantastic! I recommend this Spanish Netflix series to everyone! I really can't praise it enough!


I also watched four movies this weekend: Love, Simon, which I adored! Midnight Sun which I hated, Ready Player One which was okay but I had a difficult time getting over all the changes from the book and The Kissing Booth which was okay to pass the time.


What did you read or watch recently?

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 16 June 2018

Stacking the shelves: April Book Haul


Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got. I got way too many books in March, so it took me some time to create an actual list. Today I'm going to share with you all the e-books I got in March! Most of these e-books were incredibly cheap and I couldn't pass them up!

I'm still behind on sharing my book hauls, so here is my April book haul. 

1. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter


Currently reading this one, enjoyed the title story but the two others I have read were disappointing.

2. Angela Carter's Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter


This cover is stunning!


3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood #1) by Becky Albertalli

I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to watch the movie!

4. Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman

5. Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo

During Easter break I went on a city trip to Hasselt, a Flemish city I have never been to before and I couldn't resist buying a couple of books:

6. Pachinko by Min Jin Lee


Another stunning cover!

7. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan 


I found this in a second-hand bookstore, which donates everything to a good cause. I found the next two books there as well.

8. Zorro by Isabel Allende 



9. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer


10. Anatomy of a Soldier by Harry Parker


11. The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain


I also got two e-books:

12. The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1) by Tessa Dare

13. Brooklynaire (Brooklyn Bruisers #4) by Sarina Bowen

I also got two Netgalley arcs! 

14. Sheets by Brenna Thummler


15. Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku, Vol 1 by Fujita





Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got. I got way too many books in March, so it took me some time to create an actual list. Today I'm going to share with you all the e-books I got in March! Most of these e-books were incredibly cheap and I couldn't pass them up!

I'm still behind on sharing my book hauls, so here is my April book haul. 

1. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter


Currently reading this one, enjoyed the title story but the two others I have read were disappointing.

2. Angela Carter's Book of Fairy Tales by Angela Carter


This cover is stunning!


3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (Creekwood #1) by Becky Albertalli

I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to watch the movie!

4. Scythe (Arc of a Scythe #1) by Neal Shusterman

5. Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo

During Easter break I went on a city trip to Hasselt, a Flemish city I have never been to before and I couldn't resist buying a couple of books:

6. Pachinko by Min Jin Lee


Another stunning cover!

7. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan 


I found this in a second-hand bookstore, which donates everything to a good cause. I found the next two books there as well.

8. Zorro by Isabel Allende 



9. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer


10. Anatomy of a Soldier by Harry Parker


11. The Gustav Sonata by Rose Tremain


I also got two e-books:

12. The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1) by Tessa Dare

13. Brooklynaire (Brooklyn Bruisers #4) by Sarina Bowen

I also got two Netgalley arcs! 

14. Sheets by Brenna Thummler


15. Wotakoi: Love is Hard for Otaku, Vol 1 by Fujita


Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 


Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 

Wednesday, 13 June 2018

Can't-Wait-Wednesday: Bloody Rose (The Band #2) by Nicholas Eames

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.


Live fast, die young.

Tam Hashford is tired of working at her local pub, slinging drinks for world-famous mercenaries and listening to the bards sing of adventure and glory in the world beyond her sleepy hometown.

When the biggest mercenary band of all rolls into town, led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam jumps at the chance to sign on as their bard. It's adventure she wants - and adventure she gets as the crew embark on a quest that will end in one of two ways: glory or death.


It's time to take a walk on the wyld side. 

-- Goodreads.com description --





Expected publication date:  August 28th 2018 by Orbit


I LOVED Kings of the Wyld, which I read in February. It was an epic and humouristic fantasty story and I can't wait to read more! This sequel will center around a different generation of characters and I'm excited!



Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!



Which books are you excited to read?


If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!





Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 10 June 2018

Sunday Post #19


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer ). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

My third teaching job this semester has been so much more difficult than the other two. For the first time, I come home tired, frustrated and sad or angry EVERY week. I know that I got the most difficult classes of the third grade and it definitely shows. Luckily some pupils are enough to keep me going. One of them even told me she hopes I'll be her teacher next year as well. Those little things do make up for the difficult times.

Blog and books

I wrote THREE blog posts this week, which has been more than the last couple of weeks! 

I'm still reading You by Caroline Kepnes, expected more from it, to be honest. It's taking me forever to finish it! 

Movies and TV Shows



I finished Timeless and WHAT was that ending! I need a third season! At first I wasn't quite attached to this show, but it slowly grew on me and now I'm a huge fan!

Also finished Brooklyn-Nine-Nine, such a fun show, glad it will continue after all!

I also watched a lot of Netflix and my heart is breaking now that Sense8 is over but it was such an amazing conclusion. It's one of my favourite shows ever!

Now I am currently watching La Casa de Papel and it's great from the start!


What did you read or watch recently?

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!