Sunday, 20 September 2020

Sunday Post #121

                                             


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


I had a couple of busy weeks and the next one will be busy as well. The weather was very hot last week but I loved sitting outside and playing Splendor in the evenings. It's something we never used to do, but both my father and I find it relaxes us.

Blog and books



I finished reading Born a Crime by Trevor Noah and it was an amazing audiobook I can't recommend enough! I'm currently listening to Becoming and reading The King of Crows and enjoying both.

Movies and TV Shows




Last weekend I watched Love Never Dies with a friend and some of the songs are still stuck in my head today. The Phantom of the Opera is my favourite musical, I could watch it every month and not be bored. Do you like musicals? Which one is your favourite?

I also started watching The Umbrella Academy again. I decided to watch the first season again before moving on to the second one, because I really enjoyed it the first time. Also, I love the fact that the very first episode introduces the characters with a Phantom of the Opera medley. I'm not obsessed, I swear. Or at least, maybe  only a little bit ;).

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 6 September 2020

Sunday Post #120

                                            


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life


I had some bad days this week, some people can just let you down in some cruel ways. Luckily, I have great friends and family to cheer me up.
In other news, I started teaching in 'real life' again :) I now have about 150 pupils, so going from seeing not that many people to 150 was a bit of a shock to the system but I'm enjoying teaching this way again. Still I'm always very careful and a bit nervous, trying to disinfect everything takes up a lot of time.

Blog and books



I started reading my first audiobook on my way to work (on the train). It's a pleasant experience, which I hope to do more often. I chose Born a Crime by Trevor Noah as my first audiobook. I've listened to about 20% and I'm truly enjoying it. I definitely think it's a plus to listen to Trevor Noah himself.

Becoming is another book I'd like to get as an audiobook, although I fear I won't have enough space on my phone, as I already had to delete some apps to download Born a Crime.

Movies and TV Shows



I watched one film this week, the new adaptation of Emma. Emma and Pride and Prejudice are my favourite Austen novels. I was very excited to watch the new film but now I do have some problems with it. I personally believe the added humoristic elements were totally unnecessary. Therefore, although I enjoyed it, I still prefer the older versions.

I also watched the new episodes of Lucifer, I enjoyed it but found some parts very predictable.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 30 August 2020

Sunday Post #119

                                           


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life

Next week I start teaching again. Schools are fully opened and now I will go from not seeing that many people to seeing a hundred or more each day. Still unsure how I really feel about that, especially since the numbers are not that great at the moment.

My birthday was on Tuesday, it's the first time in forever I didn't receive any books at all. Also have yet to celebrate it with friends. But I guess that has been the case for a lot of people.

The font I used to use on this blog has disappeared for some reason and I hate it. Not sure which one to use now, so I'm trying this one out. Let me know if you like or dislike it.

I made some candles again this summer, not all of them turned out the way I wished but I have some ideas for new ones in the future.


Blog and books


I haven't really read that much nor blogged this week. 


Movies and TV Shows


I'm still watching and enjoying Gran Hotel and this week I also started the last season of Lucifer. I hope to finish the latter soon. 

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 23 August 2020

Sunday Post #118

                                          


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life

This summer I discovered a favourite new recipe: pizza wraps. It's delicious and rather easy to make. I also found out making this dish can relax me. I almost never cook so this was a fun discovery.

Do you have a new favourite recipe?


Blog and books


I finally finished reading The Great Gatsby and I truly enjoyed this beloved story. Fitzgerald's writing style is stunning yet very accessible. I often read chapters of the book while listening to Jack White's Love is Blindness. I thought it was a perfect combination.


Movies and TV Shows



I finished La Casa de Papel (Money Heist) and also watched quite a lot of films this week. Austenland and Death at the Funeral were two films I had already seen before. Fantastic Beasts 2, InterstellarMary Queen of Scots and The Hate U Give I hadn't seen before. I enjoyed all of them but The Hate U Give and Interstellar were my favourites.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 22 August 2020

Stacking the Shelves: July 2020 Book Haul

 


Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

These are the books I got in July. You will notice a certain genre pops up a lot.

1. I Want to Eat Your Pancreas by Yoru Sumino



2. Ms Ice Sandwich by Mieko Kawakami


3. At Night, I Become a Monster by Yoru Sumino

I really like this cover!

4. The Lonesome Bodybuilder by Yukiko Motoya


5. Sweet Bean Paste by Durian Sukegawa


5. The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead



6. Before the Coffee Gets Cold by Toshikazu Kawaguchi


7. El porvenir de mi pasado by Mario Benedetti


This one is in Spanish, I would like to read more in that language (but haven't really done so, so far).

8. The Memory Police by Yōko Ogawa


9. If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha


10. Kim Jiyoung, Born 1982 by Cho Nam-Joo



Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 




Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 






Monday, 17 August 2020

Sunday Post #117

                                         


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 
I am also linking The Sunday Salon hosted by Deb Nance of Readerbuzz where bloggers discuss what they are reading and other bookish topics.



Life

This summer I discovered I really enjoy walking. When the worst part of the heatwave this week was over, I decided to go walk in a nature reserve (called the Blankaart). We walked 10 km (by mistake though) but I had fun.

Did you discover something new you now like?








Blog and books


I didn't read that much this week, but I did finally share my June stacking the shelves post!

Movies and TV Shows


I started watching the final season of Las Chicas del Cable, still need to watch half of it.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Saturday, 15 August 2020

Stacking the Shelves: June 2020 Book Haul


Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews (the image above belongs to these blogs too). Each week bloggers share the books they got.

Super late (as always) but here is my June book haul!

1. Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata



I LOVED this book, can't recommend it enough! 

2. The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo


I read this one in July, find out more about this book and my thoughts in my wrap up!

3. Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston


This cover wasn't the one I ordered but I actually really like it.

4. Locke & Key, Vol. 2: Head Games by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodríguez


5. Dominicana by Angie Cruz


I'm very excited to read this one!

6. Strange Weather in Tokyo by Hiromi Kawakami



This was a gorgeous story, you can find more info in my July wrap up.

7. The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami


8. Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge


9. White Fragility: Why It’s So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism by Robin DiAngelo



10. We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie


Loved this one!



Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I really appreciate it! 




Have a wonderful weekend everyone!