Sunday, 19 May 2019

Sunday Post #65


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

I have to be at school quite a bit more this week because of a couple of meetings that take place hours apart. On top of that I have a throat ache again which is my weakness and usually evolves into a laryngitis. Hope to avoid this or will simply have to go to work like that.


Blog and books


I'm quite happy with what I read this week, I finished The Number of Love, a Netgalley e-arc and loved it! Yesterday I also read My Sister, the Serial Killer which I enjoyed as well!

I'm hoping to post my review of The Number of Love soon!

Movies and TV Shows




I only watched Game of Thrones this week and I didn't like the direction the show has taken. Hopefully the final episode will be better?



What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Happy Easter!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 15 May 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Number of Love (Codebreakers #1) by Roseanna M. White

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

Three years into the Great War, England’s greatest asset is their intelligence network—field agents risking their lives to gather information, and codebreakers able to crack every German telegram. Margot De Wilde thrives in the environment of the secretive Room 40, where she spends her days deciphering intercepted messages. But when her world is turned upside down by an unexpected loss, for the first time in her life numbers aren’t enough.

Drake Elton returns wounded from the field, followed by an enemy that just won’t give up. He’s smitten quickly by the too-intelligent Margot, but how to convince a girl who lives entirely in her mind that sometimes life’s answers lie in the heart?

Amidst biological warfare, encrypted letters, and a German spy who wants to destroy not just them, but others they love, Margot and Drake will have to work together to save them all from the very secrets that brought them together.
 



-- Goodreads.com description --

I saw this book on the blog Wishful Endings a couple of weeks ago and I was immediately intrigued! I decided to request this on Netgalley and amazingly, I got approved!
Currently reading this, haven't read that much yet, but really enjoying it! I love this period in time!

Which books are you excited to read? Recommendations are always welcome!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 13 May 2019

Review: Croquette & Empanada: The Book Romeo Would Have Given Juliet by Ana Oncina

A classic love story: doughy appetizer boy meets doughy appetizer girl. Together they exist in a world cohabited by humans.

Croquette is looking for love—his sweet, silly other half.  Empanada hopes she can find someone who accepts her for who she is. It’s a match made in tasty, tasty heaven. Internationally bestselling author Ana Oncina’s Croquette & Empanada explores modern love and domesticity with charming comics. Enjoy the antics of this adorable, culinary couple as they navigate romance and cohabitation, from deciding to move in together to purchasing their first pet. 

-- Goodreads.com description --





First of all, I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was drawn to this comic because the author is Spanish and really want to read more books by Spanish authors. I would like to reread this in Spanish.

This comic is about the relationship of Croquette and Empanada and all the little things that you can love or annoy you about living together and being a couple.

I quite enjoyed this collection but I still don't really understand why Croquette and Empanada are portrayed that way while the rest of the world is normal and populated with humans. That said, I really liked the art style, it is cute and quirky, exactly what I love in these types of comics. 

Some comics were really funny, relatable and so, so cute! Spain is my favourite country and I love eating tapas (especially patatas bravas and croquetas) when I'm there. I do wish there were more Spanish influences in the story but I guess this makes it more universal.

I recommend this book to everyone who want to read a fun, short collection of comics about little moments in a relationship. 3 stars! Will read more by Ana Oncina in the future!


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below! 


If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Have a wonderful week!

Review: Queen of the Sea by Dylan Meconis

Cult graphic novelist Dylan Meconis offers a rich reimagining of history in this hybrid novel loosely based on the exile of Queen Elizabeth I by her sister, Queen Mary.

When her sister seizes the throne, Queen Eleanor of Albion is banished to a tiny island off the coast of her kingdom, where the nuns of the convent spend their days peacefully praying, sewing, and gardening. But the island is also home to Margaret, a mysterious young orphan girl whose life is upturned when the cold, regal stranger arrives. As Margaret grows closer to Eleanor, she grapples with the revelation of the island’s sinister true purpose as well as the truth of her own past. When Eleanor’s life is threatened, Margaret is faced with a perilous choice between helping Eleanor and protecting herself. 



-- Goodreads.com description --





First of all, I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. This graphic novel intrigued me from the start because it was a reimagining of the exile of Queen Elizabeth I. As I have a master's degree in English literature I was immediately drawn to this synopsis. 

The story centres around Margaret who has spent most of her life on the island being raised by nuns. She slowly starts to discover everything about the island, the people who live there and the people who arrive.

Margaret's budding friendships were fun to read about and her loyalty knows no bounds. Her character was well developed but I often thought it was too convenient to have Margaret think of all the best solutions.

The art style is rather simplistic but it fits the story wonderfully. I would have preferred it if the story was either as historically correct as it can be or not based on history at all. I often found the characters resembling the royal family jarring because they acted and looked more or less the same but had completely different names.

The plot of Queen of the Sea moved quite slowly but this is fitting because time on the island would have moved slowly as well.

All in all, I did enjoy this graphic novel but if you are looking for a Queen Elizabeth I graphic novel you might be disappointed. If you are looking for a graphic novel set in a historical time period with new characters you might enjoy this a lot more. I gave Queen of the Sea 3 stars.


Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below! 




If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Sunday, 12 May 2019

Sunday Post #64


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

One of my teaching jobs has been extended to the end of May and I'm so happy it did (and not only because I have every Monday off :) ). After some events this year, I'm finally feel better about teaching and I actually enjoy going to work again!

Blog and books


I finished one of my Netgalley e-arcs, Queen of the Sea, which I will be reviewing next week. I also started reading The Umbrella Academy comic, and I didn't know the lead singer of My Chemical Romance was the author until I read the introduction. I'm really enjoying the first volume and I hope to finish it today!

Movies and TV Shows


I watched Game of Thrones this week and I was more annoyed than anything else. Also watched A Star Is Born which I enjoyed! Will probably watch Dead to Me on Netflix next.



What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Happy Easter!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 5 May 2019

Sunday Post #63


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

I started teaching more than fulltime again last week and the next week as well, not sure what the rest of my month will look like but I have some interesting prospects that still need to be confirmed.

I also met up with a friend this weekend and we ended up playing the boardgame Targi which was a lot of fun. Highly recommend this game!


Do you have any favourites boardgames?

Also went to see a local play this weekend, which I enjoyed, I really need to go to plays more often.

Blog and books


I finished Where the Crawdads Sing this week and I'm still struggling with my feelings about this book. Might write a review about it. I also started reading Daisy Jones and Six but I'm not sure if I'm in the right mood right now, we'll see.


Movies and TV Shows


I thought I read a spoiler about Game of Thrones on Monday which immediately made me watch the last episode. Thankfully the spoiler wasn't true and my favourite character is still alive :)

Also watched Tracks yesterday which I really liked, although some parts were a little too slow.



What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Happy Easter!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 1 May 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Bride Test (The Kiss Quotient #2) by Helen Hoang

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

Khai Diep has no feelings. Well, he feels irritation when people move his things or contentment when ledgers balance down to the penny, but not big, important emotions—like grief. And love. He thinks he’s defective. His family knows better—that his autism means he just processes emotions differently. When he steadfastly avoids relationships, his mother takes matters into her own hands and returns to Vietnam to find him the perfect bride.

As a mixed-race girl living in the slums of Ho Chi Minh City, Esme Tran has always felt out of place. When the opportunity arises to come to America and meet a potential husband, she can’t turn it down, thinking this could be the break her family needs. Seducing Khai, however, doesn’t go as planned. Esme’s lessons in love seem to be working…but only on herself. She’s hopelessly smitten with a man who’s convinced he can never return her affection.

With Esme’s time in the United States dwindling, Khai is forced to understand he’s been wrong all along. And there’s more than one way to love.


-- Goodreads.com description --
I really enjoyed The Kiss Quotient and I'm looking forward to reading Khai's story!
I actually decided to splurge last month and pre-ordered a signed copy. I have never done that before and though the shipping rate is steep, I'm really excited to get it!

Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

Which books are you excited to read? Recommendations are always welcome!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 28 April 2019

Sunday Post #62


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

Started teaching at a new school, it's only for three weeks but it stresses me out to no end. Also have a job interview tomorrow, which I'm nervous about as well, it's another teaching job in combination with the one I already have. I fear I made a mistake saying yes to the interview because I'm so stressed about everything at the moment and it's only a two-week job. I know I just had a break but I'm so ready for summer break and a new start in September.

Blog and books


Really happy with what I read this month! Finished The Priory of the Orange Tree last weekend and really enjoyed it. Also read two other books and currently reading Where the Crawdads Sing. Not sure how I feel about the latter yet. Have you read it?


Movies and TV Shows

I didn't end up watching a lot this week except for Game of Thrones, of course :)



What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Happy Easter!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 21 April 2019

Sunday Post #61


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

I have been trying to be more active on Instagram and I feel like I have succeeded! I love my last two pictures which will be featured in this post!
On Tuesday I have to start a new teaching job, I'm a little nervous and also a little sad because I was told it would be until the end of June but in the middle of my job interview they changed it to just three weeks and I had to decide right away if I would take the job. 

Still I really enjoyed this break and the nice weather! I will go read outside later!


Blog and books




I decided to participate in the Tome Topple Readathon. I have already finished my first tome and want to finish my second one today! Currently reading and enjoying The Priory of the Orange Tree. I have about 100 pages left and I'm so excited to see how everything will end. 



Movies and TV Shows




I watched Game of Thrones and it was fun to be back in that world. I also went to watch my favourite Disney film, The Hunchback of Notre Dame, with my grandmother and great-aunt. What happened on Monday with the Notre Dame still feels surreal and it's such a tragedy. When I'm in Paris I can never resist visiting the cathedral. That such a thing a happened to such an important monument is inconceivable.

I also watched part of Misery which I enjoyed and Bienvenue chez les ch'tis. The latter is a fun French movie and I've seen it a couple of times before.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Happy Easter!

Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 15 April 2019

Sunday Post #60


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

I'm writing this Sunday Post a day later than usual because I was on holiday. I went to the Dutch coast, Biggekerke to be exact, near Middelburg, Vlissingen and Zoutelande. The latter is well known in Belgium because of a popular song.

Love this view!




This morning we visited Middelburg and I had such a lovely time there! There is an amazing book shop there, called The "Drvkkery" and they have quite a selection of English books as well!



I bought three books and way too many bookmarks :) I can never resist buying bookmarks, it's my weakness!




Blog and books



I've started reading the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning and I'm really enjoying it! Currently reading ShadowfeverI've also posted a Can't Wait Wednesday post and two reviews last week! 


I finally managed to catch up with some of my Netgalley reviews and received two new badges! 25 reviews and an 80% ratio, I felt very accomplished when I earned them!


Movies and TV Shows


I haven't watched a lot this week except for De Mol (The Mole) and Santa Clarita Diet.
Going to watch Game of Thrones tonight!

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Thursday, 11 April 2019

Review: A Curse So Dark and Lonely (A Curse So Dark and Lonely #1) by Brigid Kemmerer

An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse. 

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.

Break the curse, save the kingdom. 

A prince? A monster? A curse? Harper doesn't know where she is or what to believe. But as she spends time with Rhen in this enchanted land, she begins to understand what's at stake. And as Rhen realizes Harper is not just another girl to charm, his hope comes flooding back. But powerful forces are standing against Emberfall . . . and it will take more than a broken curse to save Harper, Rhen, and his people from utter ruin.



-- Goodreads.com description --

First of all, I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. I didn't end up reading the e-arc and purchased the book when it came out because I have trouble reading pdf-files.

I was in a huge reading slump when I started read A Curse So Dark and Lonely but I couldn't put this book down! I really enjoyed the atmosphere, the characters and I'm always drawn to retellings and Beauty and the Beast ones are my favourite.

Brigid Kemmerer's writing style is really captivating and got me hooked from the very first chapter. There are two main character Harper and Rhen who get their own point of view. I hope to read more about Grey soon, another interesting character we meet right at the beginning of the story. Harper is a very strong female character and even though her weaknesses are explored it does not diminish her in the least.

The magical elements were amazing. I wouldn't mind living in that enchanted castle, I especially liked the kitchen (food just magically appears!) and Harper's room. 

The book has some surprising and interesting twists and an incredible ending!

A Curse So Dark and Lonely is a fun and captivating retelling of Beauty and the Beast and I adored it! So excited to read the sequel! I highly recommend this book and I gave it 5 stars! And that in combination with a spectacular cover!




Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below! 


If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Wednesday, 10 April 2019

Review: Loading Penguin Hugs: Heartwarming Comics from Chibird by Jacqueline Chen



Where do you turn to when you need a pick-me-up on a bad day? Loading Penguin Hugs is here to add a big boost of positivity to your life. The book is loaded with Jacqueline Chen’s motivational Chibird comics and illustrations. Every page offers cute and creative perspectives on topics, such as self-esteem, mental health, and getting through tough times.

Loading Penguin Hugs combines adorable illustrations with wholesome messages to cheer you on. Expressions like “You are not a failure. You are still growing!” provide encouragement and promote healthy mindsets. Chen’s chubby penguins, hedgehogs, Chibirds, and friends of all shapes put a smile on anyone’s face, and they’ve already made millions smile on Instagram, Tumblr, and GIPHY.

Loading Penguin Hugs is full of brand-new Chibird comics alongside popular favorites. The book comes with two bonus pages of cute exclusive stickers, and the cover features a special silver foil detail!

This inspiring book is perfect for new and old Chibird fans. Chen and her animal friends are ready to brighten anyone’s day, one comic at a time.

-- Goodreads.com description --


First of all, I want to thank Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an e-arc of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I read this comic a couple of months ago but didn't find the time to review it. I didn't know anything about Jacqueline Chen in advance but I quite enjoyed Loading Penguin HugsAt first, I didn't realise this was a collection of comics and not a story. 

The comics were cute, motivational and fun to read. I will definitely check out more of Chen's work in the future! The comics were indeed heart-warming and I read this at the right time. Everyone can use a motivational penguin every once in a while.

Later, I actually saw one of Chen's penguin on an English exam made by a colleague wishing her students good luck. 

This collection is one I would like to reread every time I'm in the need of a penguin hug. I highly recommend it and I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars!



Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below! 


If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!

Can't Wait Wednesday: Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves #2) by Mary E. Pearson

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

Warning! Spoilers book one Dance of Thieves below!

Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in love than ever. Their new life now lies before them―the Ballengers will be outlaws no longer, Tor's Watch will be a kingdom, and the two of them will meet all challenges side by side, together at last.

But an ominous warning mars their journey back, and in their rush to return to Tor's Watch, just outside the fortress walls, they are violently attacked and torn apart―and each is thrust into their own new hell.

Unsure whether the other is alive or dead, Kazi and Jase must keep their wits among their greatest enemies and unlikeliest allies. And all the while, Death watches and waits.

-- Goodreads.com description -- 




I finished Dance of Thieves this weekend and I enjoyed it. I also adore the Remnant Chronicles (each book was so better than the previous one) so I'm really looking forward to reading what will have next! Last but not least, these covers are divine! For that reason alone, I would purchase this book :)

Have you read this book or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!


Which books are you excited to read? Recommendations are always welcome!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 7 April 2019

Sunday Post #59


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

Easter break is here! I'm so happy to have time to read again! I also bought a lot of books this week, which you will see pop up on my Instagram feed and future book hauls.

I went to Facts (Flemish Comic Con) yesterday and it was fun but I'm starting to get a little bit bored at these conventions, especially if the panels are not entertaining. The only highlight was the Q&A of Jason Isaacs, all the others were so boring one of my friends fell asleep.

Blog and books


I've just finished Dance of Thieves, I did like the ending a lot, so I will read the sequel as well. I also read Starry Eyes this week which was fun!

Movies and TV Shows

I'm still watching Santa Clarita Diet and I watched Rain Man again, I've seen it multiple times before but I didn't remember much and it was fun to watch it again.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!