Monday, 26 August 2019

Sunday Post #76


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

It was my birthday today, which is why this post is a little bit late. I picked out some gorgeous earrings on Friday, got a fantastic notebook and two DVD's.
I also have a job interview on Tuesday, which is both good and stressing me out. I hate applying for jobs but my teaching career so far has been mostly applying for jobs after a month or two. I hope in five years to get my own school where I can stay. We'll have to see.

Blog and books


I finished Death Note volume 11 and 12, to be honest, I was a little bit disappointed in the ending. However, I started to feel that way since volume 4. This week I started two books! I finished Somewhere Only We Know, which I enjoyed more than I Believe in a Thing Called Love. I also started Venetia and I hope to finish it soon!

Movies and TV Shows

I didn't really watch anything this week... except for two episodes of Fight for My Way. I hope to watch La Casa de Papel and Las Chicas del Cable soon, though!

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 21 August 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday: Well Met by Jen DeLuca

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

All's faire in love and war for two sworn enemies who indulge in a harmless flirtation in a laugh-out-loud rom-com from debut author, Jen DeLuca.

Emily knew there would be strings attached when she relocated to the small town of Willow Creek, Maryland, for the summer to help her sister recover from an accident, but who could anticipate getting roped into volunteering for the local Renaissance Faire alongside her teenaged niece? Or that the irritating and inscrutable schoolteacher in charge of the volunteers would be so annoying that she finds it impossible to stop thinking about him?

The faire is Simon's family legacy and from the start he makes clear he doesn't have time for Emily's lighthearted approach to life, her oddball Shakespeare conspiracy theories, or her endless suggestions for new acts to shake things up. Yet on the faire grounds he becomes a different person, flirting freely with Emily when she's in her revealing wench's costume. But is this attraction real, or just part of the characters they're portraying?

This summer was only ever supposed to be a pit stop on the way to somewhere else for Emily, but soon she can't seem to shake the fantasy of establishing something more with Simon, or a permanent home of her own in Willow Creek.

-- Goodreads.com description --


This sounds like a very cute read and perfect for my current reading slump mood! I wish I didn't have to wait until September to read it.

Which books are you excited to read? Recommendations are always welcome!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 18 August 2019

Sunday Post #75


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

My trip to the seaside didn't feel as relaxing as it should have been as we often had to travel back to go see my grandma and the rainy weather. This whole summer has been like this to be honest. All my plans have either been cancelled or turned out sour.


Blog and books

I haven't read much this week except for a couple of Death Note volumes and the first volume of Tokyo Ghoul. The latter I really enjoyed! I loved the first three volumes of Death Note, which made me decide to purchase the box set but I have been so disappointed and bored by the other volumes. They are nothing like the first three! Still, I hope to read the last two volumes next week. 

Have you read Death Note or Tokyo Ghoul?

Movies and TV Shows


I watched part of Well Intended Love and The Master's Sun again. Really recommend the second one! 

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 11 August 2019

Sunday Post #74

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life


I'm currently on a holiday in De Haan, the Belgian coast. It's going to rain for the entire week but I hope to enjoy it anyway! My grandmother is doing a little bit better. She got to leave to hospital and went to a convalescent home but couldn't join us for this trip to the sea-side. She's still in a lot of pain but should recover in 5 weeks and be able to return home. Still it's difficult to leave her behind when I've always been to this town with her and my family. Thankfully she isn't too sad about it and always remains an optimist!

Blog and books


I haven't read that much in August yet, but I have reread the first three Death Note volumes and read the other up to volume 8. Hoping to read more soon, but not enjoying the later volumes as much as the first three. Have you read it?

Movies and TV Shows

I didn't watch any movies this week but I did start watching Radio Romance and watched W: Two Worlds Apart for the second time.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 5 August 2019

July 2019 Wrap Up

I really need to catch up on my wrap ups this year but they are hopefully coming soon!
Anyway, here is my wrap up for the month of July! I read 13 books/comics/manga last month and it's my best reading month so far this year!

1. I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo 



Since I love watching Kdrama, I felt like I had to read this book. However, the choices the main protagonist made frustrated me to no end. 2 stars.

2. + 3. Waiting for Spring 7 and 8 (Waiting for Spring, #7 + 8) by Anashin



I really love this manga so I had to read these two volumes in a row! 4 stars!

4. Skyward (Skyward #1) by Brandon Sanderson



This was one of my favourite reads this month! I can't wait to read the sequel! 5 stars!

5. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman



Really enjoyed this as well! I didn't know too much about Norse mythology before I read this but now I feel more enlightened. Highly recommend it! And this cover is gorgeous! 5 stars!

6. Fairy Tail #01 by Hiro Mashima



I enjoyed this first volume in this manga series. I found this in a Spanish bookstore and decided to read it in Spanish. Ended up going back and buying the other four volumes they had in the store. 4 stars

7. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller



Another fantastic read! 5 stars! Highly recommend it! 5 stars

8. El fantasma de Anya by Vera Brosgol



Another comic I found in that bookstore in Spain. And once again I read it in Spanish. This is a huge step for me because I almost never read books in Spanish if they are requiered reading.

9. + 10. Orange: The Complete Collection, Volume 1 + 2 by Ichigo Takano



Loved this manga series! I highly recommend it! 5 stars!

11. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer



My first Georgette Heyer! I really enjoyed it but I feel like her endings are quite rushed. 
4 stars

12. Cotillion by Georgette Heyer

4 stars.

13. Bloody Rose (The Band, #2) by Nicholas Eames 



I loved Kings of the Wyld but was strangely disappointed with this one. I really liked the friendships in the first book and in this one I couldn't really connect with the characters and I despised the titular character (which is thankfully not the protagonist). 3 stars.


What did you read in July?

Have you read any of these books or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts and recommendations down below!

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 4 August 2019

Sunday Post #73


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

My grandmother is slowly getting better but the last couple of days there hasn't been much progress. She won't be able to join us on our trip to the seaside next week which breaks my heart. Going to the hospital every day is taking it's toll as well. Once again, not a relaxing break.

Blog and books

I haven't read much this week, I feel a little slumpy. I how to get over it soon and start Circe.

Movies and TV Shows


I watched Chernobyl this week and it was fantastic! Chernobyl happened before I was born so I didn't know too much about it. The show has incredible actors, an engaging plot and very atmospheric music. I highly recommend it!

I'm trying to catch up on the Marvel films, still need to watch a couple, like Infinity War and Endgame. I did watch two Captain America films this week but he's definitely my least favourite Avenger. 


Also finished the third season of Stranger Things which was amazing! Had a movie and boardgame night with my friend this weekend and we watched Red Sparrow and I Feel Pretty which were both okay. Also discovered a new game I like: Unstable Unicorns. Have you played it? Probably going to watch the third season of La Casa de Papel next.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 29 July 2019

Sunday Post #72


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

This post is a day too late, due to a bad throat ache. The weather was way too hot this week but thankfully I did get the chance to go to the "Gentse feesten" (sort of a weeklong festival in Ghent).
I was supposed to go to a bookfair in Middelburg, The Netherlands, today but just when I got breakfast ready we got a call saying my grandmother had a bad fall and her sister couldn't get her back up alone. We immediately left and ultimately, on the advice of her doctor the ambulance was called. She lives on the third floor of an apartment building and had to be evacuated through the window by the fire department. A lot of people stayed in the street to watch, which I found infuriating. It's not an attraction!
It took ages to get to see a doctor in the hospital, which resulted in the first time I had the opportunity to eat something was at 18:45. Didn't even have the chance to eat breakfast. Today seemed like it was never going to end and we had to wait for hours with barely seeing anyone. My grandmother didn't even receive water or lunch. We'll know more about her situation soon but I fear the trip we had planned with her and her sister to the seaside is not going to happen :(

Blog and books

Currently reading Bloody Rose which I still haven't finished and lost interest in. Also, read my first Georgette Heyer book and now reading my second one. Not sure what the coming days/week will look like but hope to catch up on all the comments soon. I read and appreciate all of them!

Movies and TV Shows


I watched Descendants of the Sun last week, a military kdrama which I really enjoyed! Also watched two movies: Battle of the Sexes and The Shape of Water. Both were good as well.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 21 July 2019

Sunday Post #71


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

Just arrived home a couple of hours ago from my wonderful trip to Spain. However, it was way too short! I honestly wish I lived there. 



Blog and books

I read a quite a lot during these two weeks in Spain, about 10 books/comics/manga, two of which I read in Spanish, which is something I should do more often. Some of my favourite last week were The Song of Achilles (can't wait to read Circe now!) and the manga series Orange, which was amazing! Currently reading Bloody Rose by Nicholas Eames but I didn't get into it as much as I did Kings of the Wyld. Hope this will change soon!


Movies and TV Shows


I did watch a couple of movies this weekend: The Spy Who Dumped Me, Deadpool 2, Ocean's 8 and Black Panther. My favourite of this four was probably Deadpool 2.

What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Wednesday, 17 July 2019

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Dragon Republic (The Poppy War #2) by R.F. Kuang

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and talk about the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. It's based on Waiting On Wednesday hosted at Breaking the Spine.

The searing follow-up to 2018’s most celebrated fantasy debut – THE POPPY WAR.

In the aftermath of the Third Poppy War, shaman and warrior Rin is on the run: haunted by the atrocity she committed to end the war, addicted to opium, and hiding from the murderous commands of her vengeful god, the fiery Phoenix. Her only reason for living is to get revenge on the traitorous Empress who sold out Nikan to their enemies.

With no other options, Rin joins forces with the powerful Dragon Warlord, who has a plan to conquer Nikan, unseat the Empress, and create a new Republic. Rin throws herself into his war. After all, making war is all she knows how to do.

But the Empress is a more powerful foe than she appears, and the Dragon Warlord’s motivations are not as democratic as they seem. The more Rin learns, the more she fears her love for Nikan will drive her away from every ally and lead her to rely more and more on the Phoenix’s deadly power. Because there is nothing she won’t sacrifice for her country and her vengeance.


The sequel to R.F. Kuang’s acclaimed debut THE POPPY WAR, THE DRAGON REPUBLIC combines the history of 20th-century China with a gripping world of gods and monsters, to devastating effect.

-- Goodreads.com description --

The Dragon Republic is the sequel to The Poppy War and I'm incredibly excited to read this one! The Poppy War, though quite gruesome at times, was one of my favourite books last year. I'm looking forward to reading what happens next!


Which books are you excited to read? Recommendations are always welcome!

If you enjoyed this post, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!



Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 14 July 2019

Sunday Post #70


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

I'm sorry I've been absent for a couple of weeks, I got busy and now I'm on holiday in Spain with limited internet connection. More than half of our holiday is already over and it's raining again now, which is why I found time to blog. I love this country and this place! I've been going to the same place with my family for 22 years and I never get tired of it.


(this was our view this morning!)

This morning we went to a local antique fair and I bought some gorgeous silver jewels. I've been wanting to buy some and I love it when things have an unique story.



Blog and books

I've read quite a lot this past week, my favourites were Skyward, Norse Mythology and Fairy Tail volume one (which I read in Spanish!).


Movies and TV Shows


I haven't watched much lately because I want to spend my time differently here.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Monday, 24 June 2019

Sunday Post #69


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

The end of the schoolyear is near which means I had a ton of exams to correct last week. Correcting is definitely not my favourite part of the job. But my that part is over and there is only one week left before the summer holidays start!


Blog and books


I have read a bit more in Aurora Rising this weekend and started two manga series which I'm really enjoying. So far, I've read four volumes of Waiting for Spring and I'm reading the sixth volume of A Silent Voice right now, having started the series only this afternoon.

Have you read Aurora Rising? I have difficulties remaining interested in the story. This makes me sad because Jay Kristoff is one of my favourite authors.

Movies and TV Shows


I've been watching the kdramas Go Ho's Starry Night and Lucky Romance. I enjoyed both but still need to watch the final episodes of the latter.

I also watched Wine Country which I sadly didn't enjoy all that much. Do you have any Netflix recommendations?


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 9 June 2019

Sunday Post #68


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

I have so much correcting to do and I do nothing but procrastinating. I loathe correcting writing assignments in any language. Maybe that's not the best feat for a language teacher :) I wish the weather would be nicer, I hate gray, windy days.

Blog and books

I haven't really been reading or blogging this week, when I didn't have to work, I caught up with some TV shows.

Movies and TV Shows


I watched Romance is a Bonus Book on Netflix and I really enjoyed, mostly because all the characters work for a publishing house and we get to see them working on creating books and going through the entire process. I also loved all the bookish quotes.


I also started watching Are You Human Too? for the second time, it's my favourite kdrama about a robot having to pretend to be a human.


This weekend I also started watching the fourth season of Lucifer. Really enjoying this season! I'm going to watch the final episode tonight! Feel free to leave some recommendations on what to watch next!


I also enjoyed the film Victoria and Abdul, it sheds some light on a part of history I wasn't familiar with before.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 2 June 2019

Sunday Post #67


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

Life

Feeling better although I still cough a lot. I also get to stay on more month in my current school which is great because the schoolyear ends at the end of June!
Also posted a picture of my signed Helen Hoang book on Instagram and the likes kind of exploded, it now has 263 likes and for me, that's a lot!


Blog and books

I read quite a lot this week, I reread The Kiss Quotient and adored The Bride Test! Currently reading Aurora Rising and enjoying it. I just realised that I haven't really posted a book haul or wrap up in 2019. Is that still something you are interested in reading? Then I will try to post them all soon, so let me know!


Movies and TV Shows



I didn't watch any movies but I started watching the Chinese drama Well Intended Love. It started out great but some character's decisions are just crazy and more than a little creepy. I also feel like it's started to drag and the season should have been a lot shorter.


What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!

Sunday, 26 May 2019

Sunday Post #66


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer (image above belongs to @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer). It’s a chance to share news ~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 


Life

So, I did end up having a bronchitis and laryngitis (still not over) which in turn infected my vocal chords which made me unable to speak and teach for two days. It's quite awful to be ill while you are substituting another ill teacher. It's not a good impression I've made.

In other news, I voted today! Although, looking at the results that are slowly coming in, it looks like we'll have another a pitch-black Sunday today :(


Blog and books

I have posted my review of The Number of Love this week, really enjoyed it!
Read Lincoln in the Bardo while I was ill and I can't say I enjoyed that book. It's a little too weird and I didn't really get the point. I think I would have preferred a story about Lincoln's life more. Have you read it?


Movies and TV Shows




I watched Doctor Strange for the first time, I enjoyed it but it was strange and the humour was not my cup of tea.
After that I watched Guardians of the Galaxy because that's one of my favourite Marvel movies! Still need to catch up on a lot of others before I can watch Avengers. By the way, Groot is the best!



What did you read or watch recently?

As always please leave some recommendations on what I should read or watch next! 

If you enjoyed this review, please follow me on Bloglovin'TwitterInstagram, TVShowTime and Goodreads! I would really appreciate it!


Have a wonderful day everyone!