Saturday, 14 October 2017

Review: How to Be Perfectly Unhappy by Matthew Inman, The Oatmeal

Matthew Inman—Eisner Award-winning creator of The Oatmeal and #1 New York Times bestselling author of How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You—serves yet another helping of thoughtful hilarity in this charming, illustrated gift book for anyone who is irked by the question: "Are you happy?"

In How To Be Perfectly Unhappy, Inman explores the surprising benefits of forgetting about “happiness,” and embracing instead the meaningful activities that keep us busy and interested and fascinated.


-- Goodreads.com description --




I want to thank Netgalley and the publishers for providing me with an arc in exchange for an honest review.

This is a difficult book to review for me as it's very short but I'll do my best.
I'm not familiar with the author and his style but the title and the cover drew me in. 

The art style is awesome! Simple, funny and cartoonish. How to Be Perfectly Unhappy tries to formulate what the concept of happiness is. I feel this is quite a large question to answer is a 50-page comic. That's probably why it felt rushed to me and I don't think it entirely succeeds in what it sets out to do. 

That said, I still thought this was a fun comic about the author's personal thoughts about the subject but don't expect a life changing read.

I don't really know how to sum up my feelings in a coherent way, so I'm just going to end this review by saying that the comic is fun but too short. I gave it 3 stars. I really enjoyed the illustrations and I will check out more of The Oatmeal's work when I get the chance.

Have you read How to be Perfectly Unhappy or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

Sunday, 8 October 2017

Review: Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story by Debbie Tung

Sweet, funny, and quietly poignant, Debbie Tung’s comics reveal the ups and downs of coming of age as an introvert.

This illustrated gift book of short comics illuminates author Debbie Tung's experience as an introvert in an extrovert’s world. Presented in a loose narrative style that can be read front to back or dipped into at one’s leisure, the book spans three years of Debbie's life, from the end of college to the present day. In these early years of adulthood, Debbie slowly but finally discovers there is a name for her lifelong need to be alone: she’s an introvert.

The first half of the book traces Debbie’s final year in college: socializing with peers, dating, falling in love (with an extrovert!), moving in, getting married, meeting new people, and simply trying to fit in. The second half looks at her life after graduation: finding a job, learning to live with her new husband, trying to understand social obligations when it comes to the in-laws, and navigating office life. Ultimately, Quiet Girl sends a positive, pro-introvert message: our heroine learns to embrace her introversion and finds ways to thrive in the world while fulfilling her need for quiet.

-- Goodreads.com description --

First of all, I want to thank the publishers and Netgalley for providing me with an arc copy of Quiet Girl in a Noisy World.

I identify myself as an introvert and that's the main reason I wanted to pick this book up. My uncle recently said at a family gathering that his daughter is an introvert and he wishes she weren't. That rubbed me the wrong way. Being an introvert is in no way inferior to being extravert. That's the other reason I read this graphic novel.

Quiet Girl in a Noisy World reads like a graphic novel memoir about Debbie Tung's experiences as an introvert. Her illustrations of a "social battery" perfectly portray how I feel about socializing and needing some alone time. Tung is able to explain how introverts experience things in a simple way while still keeping this a personal account of own.

I really liked Debbie Tung's art style, it's simple with mostly grey colours and the illustrations are beautiful.

The comic is made up of short chapters which are only a page or two long. I didn't mind this as it did follow a complete storyline throughout the comic.

I gave Quiet Girl in a Noisy World 4 stars! I identified with a couple of things but definitely not everything. I think this gives a well-rounded view on being an introvert and I highly recommend it to everyone!

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

September Wrap Up

These are the books I read in September. I'm quite happy with my reading month! I read some amazing books!

1. Blackmoore by Julianne Donaldson


This historical romance was predictable and at times boring. 3 stars.

2. The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead


Loved this book! 5 stars!

3. Don't Stop Me Now by Colleen Coleman


I was approved to read this from Netgalley but I didn't download it in time, so I had to purchase it. You can find my review here. 3 stars.

4. Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood 


This book is getting adapted by Netflix and I'm so glad I read the book first! Highly recommend this one! 5 stars!

5. Death Note, Vol. 1: Boredom (Death Note, #1) by Tsugumi Ohba


My very first manga! I got this from my library and I hope to continue the series soon! 4 stars!

6. How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry


I really enjoyed this one! I got approved to read this through Netgalley but my e-book expired before I had the time to read this, so I got this from the library as well. You can find my review here. 4 stars!

7. Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by Mariah Marsden and Brenna Thummler


This graphic novel was wonderful! You can find my review here! 5 stars! Brenna Thummler actually tweeted me back twice! 

8. The Ghost of Gaudi by El Torres


I love Gaudí, so when I saw this graphic novel on Netgalley, I just had to read it! 3 stars. You can find my review here.

9. Taproot by Keezy Young


I got comic from Netgalley as well. 3 stars, you can find my review here.

10. Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert's Story by Debbie Tung 


Loved this graphic novel! Review to come soon! 4 stars! Highly recommend it!

11. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan


This was such a stunning book. Heart-breaking, shocking and beautifully written. Highly recommend this one! 5 stars!


Which books did you recently read? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you liked this post, please follow me on 'Bloglovin, Twitter, Instagram and Goodreads!

Monday, 2 October 2017

October TBR

These are the books I plan to read in the month of October:


1. The Girl with All the Gifts (The Girl With All The Gifts #1) by M.R. Carey 


I got this from my Broke and Bookish secret santa last year and I thought this would make the perfect Halloween read!

2. Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist #1) by Renee Ahdieh 


3. The Young Elites (The Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu 


Just finished Warcross and it was fantastic! Can't wait to read the sequel but while I wait, I want to read Marie Lu's only trilogy I haven't read yet.

4. The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Guide #1) by Mackenzi Lee


I've heard such good things about this book, can't wait to read it! 


I hope to read more than these four books but I'm never good at sticking to my TBR.

Which books do you plan to read this month? Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you liked this post, please follow me on 'Bloglovin, Instagram, Twitter and Goodreads!

Saturday, 30 September 2017

Stacking the Shelves: September Book Haul Part 2

Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews. Each week bloggers share the books they got. These are the other physical books I got this month! I'm excited about every single one of them!

1. Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicle #2) by Jay Kristoff 


I loved Nevernight last year, so I needed to get the sequel! Hope to read it soon!

2. Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1) by Leigh Bardugo


I love Leigh Bardugo and I love Wonder Woman!

3. The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue (Guide #1) by Mackenzi Lee 


I ordered this on wordery.com but it arrived damaged :( like really damaged, if you need proof, check my instagram. I was horrified! Luckily I was able to get a refund and I bought the book somewhere else!

4. Warcross (Warcross #1) by Marie Lu 


Currently reading this one! So far, it's fantastic!

5. The Mad Ship (Liveship Traders #2) by Robin Hobb


I finished Ship of Magic last month and I'm slowly going to continue the series because Robin Hobb's books are huge!



I love these Penguin English Library classics! They're stunning!

6. The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells

7. A Study in Scarlet (Sherlock Holmes #1) by Arthur Conan Doyle

8. The Sign of Four (Sherlock Holmes #2) by Arthur Conan Doyle


9. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

I passed a bookstore in Ghent and I just couldn't resist getting these!



Which books did you recently get? Have you read any of the books mentioned above? Let me know which one I should read next! Leave your thoughts down below!


If you liked this post you can follow me on 'Bloglovin, Twitter, Instagram and Goodreads!

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Fantasy Books with Female Protagonists

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week bloggers post their top ten on a previously suggested topic. This week's topic is Ten Books That Feature Characters ____________. I chose ten fantasy books which feature female protagonists. I tried to leave the more obvious ones out (like for example books by Sarah J. Maas).

1. The Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews 


I really enjoy this series and I highly recommend it!

2. The Gardella Vampire Hunters by Colleen Gleason


I read this series when I was sixteen and back then, it was my favourite series ever! It was pitched to me as Buffy meets Jane Austen, how could I not love it?
The first book in the series can often be found on kobo.com as a free e-book. 

3. Enchanted, Inc. series by Shanna Swendson 


Another fun series which is more or less unknown. It's charming and cute! Highly recommend it!

4. The Witchlands by Susan Dennard


I have seen mixed reviews about this series and although I do recognize the books have some flaws, I really like this series and can't wait to read the following books!

5. The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson


I finished this trilogy at the beginning of the year and once again, I really recommend this trilogy! The first book is somewhat predictable but each book in the series just gets better.

6. The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renee Ahdieh 


I love retellings so I just had to mention one on this list! I have yet to read Flame in the Mist but I'm hoping to do so next month!

7. The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel


I read this one last year and I really liked it. This duology should definitely get more attention!

8. The Nevernight Chronicle by Jay Kristoff


This series divides opinion, apparently you either love or hate it. I am one of those people who loved it! Can't wait to read the sequel!

9. Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs


If you liked the Kate Daniels series, you should definitely give this series a try! I hope to continue both series soon!

10. Uprooted by Naomi Novik


This enchanting fairy tale is a must read!


Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Leave your thoughts and the link to your Top Ten Tuesday down below!

If you liked this post, follow me via 'Bloglovin, e-mail, Goodreads, Twitter and or Instragram! 

Have a great week everyone! Happy reading!

Sunday, 24 September 2017

Sunday Post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. 

This is the first time I'm participating in The Sunday Post. I never felt I had much to tell before but now I think I do. I hope you'll enjoy this post!

In Real Life

As you probably know, I graduated this week. During my Bachelor's degree, I struggled writing my Ba paper due to an enormous amount of insecurity and an awful supervisor. I failed that paper twice and was not allowed to start my thesis the next year, which means I lost an entire year. Needless to say, that was a big blow.

So, at the beginning of this academic year I chose a supervisor with a kind and competent reputation and topics which interested me. She always had something positive to say about my drafts which helped tremendously with my self-confidence. In the end, I graduated with distinction because of a great thesis. The thing I was so scared to write, ended up being my greatest accomplishment so far.

I want to thank everyone for their kind messages yesterday! I loved them all!

On the Blog


There have been a couple of changes this week.
For one, I have created my very first Instagram and Twitter accounts which will be all about books and my blog, so check it out! If you follow me on either social media, I'd be happy to follow you back!
You can also follow me on Goodreads and 'Bloglovin!
If you want to follow which TV shows I watch every week, you can follow me on TV Show Time!

Reviews this week



I finally figured out the best way to up my ratio on Netgalley: read the "read now" comics and graphic novels. I love the genre anyway and they are usually fast and compelling reads.

- Taproot by Keezy Young 3 stars
The Ghost Of Gaudi by El Torres 3 stars
Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by Mariah Marsden and Brenna Thummler 5 stars

Stacking the Shelves and Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR List

Currently reading: The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan



Currently watching: the second season of Twin Peaks for the first time!


Next Week on the Blog

You can expect another Stacking the Shelves post on Saturday. Hopefully I will be able to post another Top Ten Tuesday and a review but that will depend on the amount of work and classes I have next week.


I hope you enjoyed this post! Leave your thoughts down below and have a great week and happy reading!

Saturday, 23 September 2017

Stacking the Shelves: Graduation Book Haul

Stacking the Shelves is a meme co-hosted by Reading Reality and Tynga's Reviews. Each week bloggers share the books they got. I officially graduated on Wednesday, a Master degree in English and Spanish linguistics and literature. I am now still studying to get a teacher's degree which hopefully will be done around January if I can plan my teaching practice accordingly.




After the proclamation, I went to some bookstores in Ghent to celebrate. The first three I got in Het Paard van Troje.


1. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas


I went into this bookstore to get this edition of The Count of Monte Cristo and Middlemarch, however, they didn't have the last one anymore, so I decided to buy two other books instead :)

2. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy


Honestly, I already had a copy of Anna Karenina but I simple couldn't resist this gorgeous Vintage edition. Hopefully, I finally feel motivated enough to pick it up!

3. Poems by Wilfred Owen


Since I wrote my thesis on First World War literature, it only felt natural to get this collection of Great War poems by Wilfred Owen.


Then we went to The English Book Shop, a second-hand bookstore in Ghent and I got the following three books.

4. The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan


Once again, I already owned a copy of this book but I mistakenly ordered the mass market paperback version and I really dislike reading classics or literary fiction in such a small font. So when I saw the hardcover for a cheap price, I was fated to pick it up. I am currently reading this book, I just had to pick it up!

5. The Republic of Thieves (Gentleman Bastard #3) by Scott Lynch 


I have read and loved The Lies of Locke Lamora and I own the sequel, when I saw the correct edition to match my other books, I couldn't resist. I hope to continue the series soon!

6. A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth


If you follow this blog, you're probably tired of me going on about my thesis and the fact that I studied an Indian Great War novel. I can't guarantee this is the last time I'll mention it, but if been wanting to read A Suitable Boy for some time now, and when I saw it, it felt right to get it on that day. If you have more recommendations of books set in India, please let me know!



Have you read any of the books mentioned above or are you planning to? Which books did you get recently? Leave your thoughts down below! 

If you have a blog, don't forget to leave the link, so I can leave a comment on your blog as well!

Lastly, if you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my blog via e-mail or 'Bloglovin!

Friday, 22 September 2017

Review: Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel by Mariah Marsden and Brenna Thummler

Schoolyard rivalries. Baking disasters. Puffed sleeves. Explore the violet vales and glorious green of Avonlea in this spirited adaptation.

The magic of L.M. Montgomery’s treasured classic is reimagined in a whimsically-illustrated graphic novel adaptation perfect for newcomers and kindred spirits alike. When Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert decide to adopt an orphan who can help manage their family farm, they have no idea what delightful trouble awaits them. With flame-red hair and an unstoppable imagination, 11-year-old Anne Shirley takes Green Gables by storm.

Anne’s misadventures bring a little romance to the lives of everyone she meets: her bosom friend, Diana Barry; the town gossip, Mrs. Lynde; and that infuriating tease, Gilbert Blythe. From triumphs and thrills to the depths of despair, Anne turns each everyday moment into something extraordinary.


The spirit of Anne is alive and well in Mariah Marsden's crisp adaptation, and it's a thrill to watch as the beloved orphan rushes headlong through Brenna Thummler's heavenly landscapes. Together Marsden and Thummler conjure all the magic and beauty of Green Gables. Like Anne herself, you won't want to leave.
— Brian Selznick, author/illustrator of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” and “The Marvels”


-- Goodreads.com description --

I received an arc from Netgalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review. I read Anne of Green Gables for the very first time this year. However, I've loved the adaptation for years now.

Mariah Marsden and Brenna Thummler adapted Anne's well loved story into a stunning graphic novel.

The art work fits the story perfectly and they adapted the story faithfully. No major changes were made. The artists succeeded in bringing Anne's story to life in their illustrations. The atmosphere was captured wonderfully.

I will definitely be purchasing this graphic novel when I get the chance! It's a must read for all fans of Anne of Green Gables! I hope they will continue adapting the rest of the series because I'm hooked! 

I gave Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel 5 stars! I fell in love with the illustrations from the first page. I can't recommend this graphic novel enough, it such a delight!

Thursday, 21 September 2017

Review: The Ghost Of Gaudi by El Torres

Someone is committing barbarous murders throughout Barcelona, focusing on locations designed by renowned visionary architect Antoni Gaudi. The police have no clues, but a young woman is thrust into the investigation by a man resembling the late Gaudi himself, led to the scenes of the crimes before they even occur... could be a precognizant ghost? A visual tour through the beautiful streets of Barcelona on a true edge-of-your-seat thriller written by El Torres and illustrated by Jesus Alonso, both natives of the city. Winner of several awards in Spain. 

-- Goodreads.com description -- 









I received an arc copy from Netgalley and the publishers in exchange for an honest review.

This is a fictional graphic novel about an investigation of serial murders on the sites of Gaudí's creations in Barcelona.

Before I review this comic, there is one thing you need to know about me. I LOVE GAUDÍ! For the past twenty years, my family and I, rent an apartment near Barcelona from friends for a week or two. Aside from my university city, Ghent, Barcelona is my most well-known and favourite city. I have visited everything Gaudí designed which is open to the public. He is by far my favourite architect.

So, now let's move on to the actual review:

Things I liked: 

- As I'm a huge Gaudí fan, I adored the drawings of his many creations. The art style is really stunning and for that alone, I recommend this graphic novel. The theme of the story was represented in the darker colours while the artist still showed the vibrant buildings created by Gaudí in their original state. 

- I enjoyed the mystery aspect, it was entertaining and I actually didn't figure out who was responsible for the murders before the police did, which is also refreshing.

Things I didn't like:


- I didn't really get Antonia's storyline. It made the story more confusing and I feel she could have been left out of the comic in its entirety. 

- The presence of Gaudí's ghost was a bit over the top for me. I think the story would have been stronger it focussed a bit more on the police investigation instead of on Antonia and Gaudí's ghost, but that's just my personal opinion.

All in all, I recommend this graphic novel! I absolutely adore the art style and for me that's always the most important aspect of a graphic novel (again that's just my personal opinion). If you like Gaudí as much as I do, I believe you should definitely check this one out. However, if you are not familiar with the Catalan architect, this comic offers a good introduction to his work as well. All his most famous creations in Barcelona are featured in the story.

I gave this stunning graphic novel 3 stars and I might actually purchase it in the future as well! Loved it!

Tuesday, 19 September 2017

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week bloggers post their top ten on a previously suggested topic. This week's topic is top ten books on my fall TBR list. I read about half of the books on my summer TBR, so it would be great if I could read half of this list as well!

1. The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee


I've been hearing so much about this one lately, I just had to get it for myself!

2. Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel 


I got the sequel from Netgalley in a pdf version, I personally struggle to read pdf's but I do hope to read this one soon!

3. A Wrinkle in Time (A Wrinkle in Time Quintet, #1) by Madeleine L'Engle


I've been hearing so much about this book over the years, I'm really curious to see what it's about!

4. Idaho by Emily Ruskovich


I was approved to read this through Netgalley but I didn't have the time to read it before the archive date, so now I got hold of a copy through my library.

5. Hidden Huntress (The Malediction Trilogy #2) by Danielle L. Jensen


I got The Broken Ones from Netgalley as well, but I believe I should finish the trilogy before reading the prequel.

6. Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons, #1) by Leigh Bardugo


Since watching the movie in August, I've been wanting to read Leigh Bardugo's newest book! So excited!

7. Godsgrave (The Nevernight Chronicle, #2) by Jay Kristoff 


I really enjoyed Nevernight, so now I want to read sequel!

8. The Young Elites (The Young Elites, #1) by Marie Lu 


This one has been on my shelves for way too long, it's about time I read it!

9. Flame in the Mist (Flame in the Mist, #1) by Renee Ahdieh


I ordered the October fairyloot box and I have a deal with myself that I have to read the previous fairy loot books before the next box arrives. Flame in the Mist was in the last box I ordered and now I need to read it as soon as possible! Really excited about this one!

10. The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic by Leigh Bardugo


Leigh Bardugo, enough said.


Which books do you plan to read? Have you read any of the ones mentioned above? Leave your thoughts down below!

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my blog via e-mail or 'Bloglovin! I would really appreciate it!